Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Ride
    Rinker 272
    Post Thanks / Like

Airplane resto/annual project

Here's the recap of my airplane annual turned restoration project that I did over the winter. Hope some of you find it interesting.

I found this 1963 Beechcraft Musketeer up in Michigan. It's got a 160 hp O-320 and basic equipment; comm/comm, nav/comm, single head VOR, and an OK audio panel.

The previous owner was moving on to a Mooney, which is a little faster, and he also has an Ercoupe if he wants to go slow. He'd had this one for 10 years. Before him it did a short 2 year stint in Kentucky and before that it spent its first 40 years with one owner in New Mexico.
    After quite a few hours of chatting with the previous owner on the phone off and on, I had pretty solid confidence about the plane. I had a pre-buy inspection done by an A&P that was not affiliated with the PO in anyway, supposedly. The A&P didn't find anything to cause much worry. As a new pilot, I opted to have the previous owner fly it down here to KC instead of taking a long VFR cross country in a new-to-me plane. I ended up taking delivery in November of '18. It had had a recent annual inspection so I got to fly it most of a year before I started the project.

OK, on to the project. I started with the tail and moved forward, so that's how I'll tell the story...
    Midwest Boat Party - Technical Operations

My Ride
    Rinker 272
    Post Thanks / Like
    One time while pushing the plane in to the hangar I managed to introduce the stabilator to the wall. I was pretty freaked out because there were only 553 of this particular stabilator made, so sourcing a replacement would be difficult. I had two A&Ps take a look. Their assessments concurred that all I'd done was basically cosmetic damage.